The station was originally opened by the West Midland Railway in 1862 and passed into the hands of the Great Western Railway and British Railways who closed it in 1963. The station was re-opened as part of the Severn Valley Railway in 1974.
|GWR 4857 arrives with a Bridgnorth bound service|
|Type:||Preserved Railway (Severn Valley Railway)|
|Opened:||1862 (Closed 1963)|
Arley has a passing loop that allows two full length trains on the mostly single track Severn Valley Railway to pass. It also has the original station house and a small goods yard. The signalbox is an interloper bought in by the SVR after the original was demolished by British Railways. Access between the platforms is via a road bridge at the end of the platforms.
Arley has been preserved to a very high standard and is one of the most picturesque stations on the line. It has been the setting for a number of TV programmes including Oh, Dr Beeching!
|Passing trains during a diesel gala|
|Station view from the road bridge|
|Arley signal box|
|Western locos passing|
|Platform shelter, no bus shelters here!|