Acton Town (ZAT)

Acton Town is one of a number of tube stations in Acton, West London. This one is served by the District and Piccadilly Lines and is adjacent to Acton Depot (formerly Works) and the London Transport Museum Depot (see below).

Type: Transport for London
(District & Piccadilly Lines)
Station code: ZAT
Opened: 1879
Platforms: 4
The station was opened in 1879 by the District Railway (now District Line) as Mill Hill Park. It gained its current name in 1910 which is also when the station was rebuilt.

The current station building dates from 1932 when the Uxbridge branch was transferred to the Piccadilly Line. The station was designed by Charles Holden and is Grade II listed.

Acton Town continues to be served by the District Line Ealing Broadway branch and Piccadilly Lines. After Acton Town the Piccadilly Line splits into its 2 western branches to Uxbridge and Heathrow making the stop an important interchange in West London.
Piccadilly Line 73ts 235 at Acton Town

Station frontage

A Piccadilly Line train arrives

A Heathrow bound Piccadilly Line train prepares to depart

London Transport Museum Acton Depot

Adjacent to Acton Town station is Action Depot including the depot of London Transport Museum. Most of the museum's collection is held here (the Covent Garden site simply cannot hold but a small fraction of the museum's large collection of rolling stock, vehicles and other items). The depot also includes facilities and space for the restoration of trains and road vehicles.

Former Waterloo & City Line Class 487 car is under restoration in the depot

A selection of the museum's extensive bus collection